Happy Fifty-Fifth Birthday, Five Days In a Row!

Monday, July 11th was my 55th birthday – of course I celebrated in the usual way by going to work and putting in the day’s toil – however this birthday was a break, because I got to go to an Agile Boot Camp training course and listen to how my chosen profession is evolving into a more compassionate form.  Agile is not for everyone, but I think it’s going to take my company into a new wave of re-thinking how to deal with life-long problems of software development and deployment.  For further examples on how re-thinking the way people looked at things, I suggest you study the French Revolution, the Impressionistic Art Movement of the 1870’s, and of course, the Woodstock generation of hippies!

Birthday Flags Still Hang Over My Cubicle - even on July 15th!

Birthday Flags Still Hang Over My Cubicle – even on July 15th!

Oh well, but I digress -back to my birthday.   It is the tradition in my work area to hang a banner of flags over one’s cubicle on the day of their birthday.  Additionally a colorful banner that says ‘Happy Birthday’ also hangs in the chosen one’s cubicle.  See the photo below – and the mess that is my cubicle as well!.  The flags should have come down after a day, but they stayed up till the end of the week, so I got birthday greetings from co-workers every day.  It was kind of a nice gesture, but then I thought of the Bill Murray movie, ‘Groundhog Day’ and wondered was I aging a year more for each day that the flags were hung?  Would I be eligible for retirement by next Tuesday?

Well, it now is Saturday, the 16th, and I am happy to say that I am still 55 and not feeling that old yet.  I still have not applied for the senior citizen discount at any place like I said that I would do; instead I have been busy pursuing other fun stuff such as kayaking, riding a bike on the river, going to a 60’s concert movie at the Levitt Shell, and generally enjoying life.   Maybe I’ll get to see 56, 57, 58, and many more years, but I am going to try and have some fun where I am now – see ya!

Biking On The River Front - this should be required practice for every Memphian

Biking On The River Front - this should be required practice for every Memphian

This entry was posted in It's About Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment