My First 5K Race!

NAMI 5K – October 15th, 2011

I took up running in the Summer of 2011 as a way of cross-training to offset all the road biking that I had been doing.  I initially did not enjoy running as much as biking, but eventually I came to like it as much as being on a bike.  Many of my co-workers were into running and had many years of experience, along with a string of successes in marathons and other racing events.  I knew that I too would want to compete, but I would have to start small, just in a local 5K, to see if I could keep  up. 

NAMI 5K - just after receiving my first 5k medal!

NAMI 5K - just after receiving my first 5k medal!

My moment of trial by fire came in early October, when the NAMI 5K was presented as a goal to acheive by my neice and her boyfriend, whom both planned to participate. NAMI stands for National Alliance on Mental Illness, and is a very worthy cause, in my opinion.

I almost did not run, but at the last minute I jumped in the car and headed out to Collierville to run.  I was happily surprised when I arrived and had not missed the start, so I began filling out the registration forms.  As soon as I finished putting my name on the dotted line, someone shouted ‘GO’ and we were off!.  I had to put down my tote bag on the ground and ask a food provider to watch it while I ran.  I ran as hard as I could to catch up with the pack, but they were way out in front.  Somehow I managed to get through the 3.1 miles that make up the 5K run, crossing the finish line in 29 minutes and 43 seconds.  I did not know if I had placed or not, so I waited around for the awards ceremony.  It was a pleasant shock to find out that I came in second in my age bracket!  

NAMI 5K - getting the 2nd place medal

NAMI 5K - getting the 2nd place medal

I accepted the medal and was encouraged by this to go on to run again in November.   You can see the snippet from Races On Line with my time posted – it was just an awesome moment for me, considering that I had just taken up the sport a few months earlier. 

Running seems to clear your mind to focus on other things, and some even say that it promotes the growth of new brain cells.  I need all the new ones that I can get at my age! 

NAMI 5K - at the finish line

NAMI 5K - at the finish lineNAMI 5K - the results are in!

 But seriously, running can be very beneficial to your health.  It is one of the oldest sports in the world, dating back to Biblical times, where numerous times in both the Old and New Testament it is mentioned as a metaphor for various things.
 
Here’s a great one from the Greatest Communicator, the Apostle Paul, when writing the running aficionados of the city of Corinth:
 
1 Corinthians 9:24-27
‘Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore i do not run like a man running aimlessly, i don not fight like a man beating the air. No, i beat my body and make it my slave so that after i have preached to others, i may not be disqualified for the prize.’

Keep running!

NAMI 5K - the results are in...

NAMI 5K - the results are in...

This entry was posted in The Sporting Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

